Irritable at Work

AmeliePoulain

I'll be 28 years old soon and I've been working at a place for 3 years now. Out of everyone in my department, I've been there the longest, and I'm in school obtaining a second degree. I plan to stay at my current job for another 3 years and finally move into the desired career once I obtain certification. In the meantime, I want to stick it out at this current job even though I don't have any passion in it.

The thing is, nobody in my department has a passion for the work. We are all just here for a paycheck, and we can all be lazy in some way and I think we can tell we are over this job, but the pay is too good as we are comfortable. However, I work with a bunch of immature adults, including myself. We're all very unprofessional and for the most part we get along. I would consider two of the girls there my closest friends, and a few I may hang out with outside of work, and the others I really don't care about.

I don't have a filter when I talk. My friends appreciate that side of me. I say what's on my mind, and I know that honesty won't win me a lot of friends, but I have a hard time being fake to people. I don't like trivial or artificial conversations but sometimes I engage in it when I'm not busy, but I definitely voice my opinions. Anyway, I'm starting to have little patience and getting annoyed at the topic of conversations with co-workers. One guy in particular turns every story into himself and carries around a lot of ego. I don't think too many people like him, but he's very manipulative. Sometimes he is rude, and I give him talk back, so most of the time we are just fake nice to each other to get the work done. It's starting to bug me as I always see right through him.