Changing careers mid-life...

findingnemo

Has anybody decided they need to go back to school after years away?

I'm contemplating (have been for 6 years now) doing Law. I have a Bachelors in Finance and an MBA. I run my own businesses but have found myself engaged in legal things more and more. There are 2 reasons I want to get a law degree.

1) I always wanted to be a lawyer as a kid but just before college switched to business. I have no idea why now. (Seems silly but I can't for the life of me remember what I was thinking then).

2) Since 2007, I've been involved in court case after court case. I have good lawyers but I usually question their reasoning, go back and read the relevant laws and more often than not find something that they have missed. Perhaps I understand the issues better since I or my family initiates the cases. But I also find that lacking the legal background makes the research harder for me.

So my plan is to go to Law school. Making the decision to do it is what's taken so long. At first it was that I was getting M, then I had my kids and just couldn't find the time. Now that they are older, I want to do this. My question is, is it really worth it to go back to school for years and years?

(I fully intend to keep running my businesses and it seems to me that studying Law will enhance this. I'm also turning 40 next year and think now would the time for this. Please advise if you can).

Edited by findingnemo
Typos
Star Gazer

I wouldn't advise it, especially if you have to finance any part of your education. You will be 18 years behind most practitioners your age, and it will show.