Would it be bad to date my manager?

I've been working at a retail store for a few months now and the manager of the store and I have been getting really close. I'm 18 and he's 24. The work environment is super laid back since it's like a skater type of store, so the employees are all either oblivious or they don't care about any type of relationship we might have, but I feel like there were always be the few who may think I'm being favored or something like that. Plus there's the whole age difference thing. Is six years too much?

So between employees possibly getting weird about it and the age difference, would it be worth it to give it a try? I don't want to come off to everyone like the dumb girl who's "with" the manager :confused:

Bad move

If you start dating, colleagues who do not seem bothered at the moment will start feeling you are favoured and will be less likely to trust you when they moan about work. His superiors will also more than likely have problems with this - he may have to declare the relationship and one of you may end up being transferred (or worse)

It will be extremely difficult for him to objectively manage you and discipline you if needed - what happens when you and someone else are up for promotion and in competition etc

Apart from all that, think about what happens if it does not work out

• Like 2

If you would otherwise date the man, irrespective of the job situation, and you don't care if you get terminated or regarding the impact on future job seeking, I'd say go with what works, presuming mutual interest. If he asks you on a date and you want to accept, do so and see where it goes, mindful of the caveats I mentioned prior. Good luck.

• Author

By the way, this a super chill job, for me at least. It's kind of what I'm doing just to fill time since most of my friends are away at universities and I'm working on my G.E. at my town's college. So it's not like I'm planning on making a career out of this job.