In an "employer's market," how many hoops before you say, "Enough!"?

Currently I am an adjunct professor at a branch of a large community college. I responded to a job ad for an adjunct position at another branch of the same college, that specifies the "position" is to teach a section of one guaranteed-transfer course this fall. It's fine to teach at several branches at once; you just have to be hired separately by each branch, each of which has its own staff and protocol, etc.

The ad asked for my resume, cover letter, transcripts, a sample class plan, the syllabus from the course I currently am teaching, and as a bonus I threw in a document illustrating the kinds of detailed comments I give to my current students.

I was asked to have a telephone interview with the dean and the full-time professor leading the job search on Monday. I was asked at the end of the day today, Friday. It turns out that in addition to all of the above materials, I'm expected to grade and provide detailed editing and comments on a sample student essay and submit it to them by Tuesday.

This rubs me the wrong way, and here's why: One, I'm already employed by the same institution and am currently teaching the same course (college writing) they're interviewing me to teach this fall. Two, I already gave them SEVEN single-spaced, type-written cover pages that I routinely attach to each of my students' papers, so surely that is enough to see how I grade and comment upon papers. Three, I have been a professional editor at a range of prestigious institutions for ten years, so that alone says something about my editorial skills for things like grammar, punctuation, and style. Four, it's a weekend before a mid-week major national holiday, and I'm notified of this task just a few days before they want it done?