I've been working for my company for 6 years. I have a good relationship with everyone I work with including my boss. The money is just not what I feel I deserve at this point. I manage a Real Estate Portfolio of 200 properties and manage about 10 people. No one here is capable of stepping into my shoes right away. So my question is, what kind of notice should I give now that a better opportunity has presented itself?

desertIslandCactus
I've been working for my company for 6 years. I have a good relationship with everyone I work with including my boss. The money is just not what I feel I deserve at this point. I manage a Real Estate Portfolio of 200 properties and manage about 10 people. No one here is capable of stepping into my shoes right away. So my question is, what kind of notice should I give now that a better opportunity has presented itself?

Under the circumstances there is even a possibility that they will try to negotiate with you for a higher salary.

Since it appears you may not be as replaceable as some, would a month be too much for you ? Or to volunteer to do your job on a parttime basis while working for the other company ? I have given a lot of notice with some of my past employers who treated me nice.

If you really want to quit, you will want to make the new job your priority, right? And any new employer would want you to start asap, no?

I think you should take your new job into consideration, rather than trying to please the employer you're leaving. Anyway, the starting date for the new job will be discussed and most likely agreed during the interview, so that's where you can mention your concerns about giving notice. Maybe the new company understands your situation.

• Author