Rumor Has It...

I have a strange situation going on at work right now. I have been working at my job for about 4 years now and in that entire time I have had a friendship with Joe. We could always talk about everything and always were friendly and slightly flirty to one another. For the most part, we kept it on a platonic, coworker level. Well recently things seem to have changed a bit. Our conversations have gotten more deep and personal. We talk about everything from our beliefs about things in life to sex. In fact one day last week, we had an encounter where there was much sexual energy involved and it was obvious that we were both interested in that. But, we still never touched each other other than him brushing up against me "accidentally" while I was bending over. I thought things were opening up very nicely for us. I was sure that any day we were gonna start something. But, something happened that seemed to have ruined everything. We work in a very immature environment and if you talk to someone for more than 2 minutes, you are sleeping with them. So all of a sudden there are rumors about us sleeping together flying all over the place. I was ready to just brush it off as immaturity and move on but he convinced me to report it to our supervisor. NOw our relationship is all weird. I want to know why he was so inclined to report things and why it bugged him so much. He even said people were just jealous. So what's up with his change. It was more than obvious that things were headed somewhere good for us. Now we barely speak. My question is why did this bother him so much and why are things weird now? Help please!!

The best thing to do is ask him. Im sure since you guys had already established an open friendship, then this shouldnt be a big issue to discuss. Its hard to say why he would be acting this way if he is the one who insisted that you report it to the supervisor

Several questions come to mind: