Confidence in Everything Except Relationships

I'm looking for suggestions to regain my confidence in relationships...

I have confidence in every aspect of my life except relationships. In my professional life I'm a no nonsense type of person. I do my job and do it well. I don't leave much room for fluff. I'm not a pushover. I say what I need. I get the job done...

In my personal life, I'm a survivor. I've been through some tough crap in life, but I've persevered. I'm independent. And have done very well taking care of myself. I'm an athlete. An extreme sports enthusiast. I crush whitewater and climb mountains. I'm very confident in my independence, abilities, and skills. I'm a mentor and safety instructor. I say what needs to be said when it needs to be said. And I'm a relatively happy and positive person.

But when it comes to relationships, I lack the same assertiveness and confidence I have in other aspects of my life. I get tongue tied. I don't say what I think or feel. I don't set boundaries. I worry what people think of me. I hold back.

This was brought to my attention after a recent breakup. I'm not going to go into too much detail, but in a nutshell, the man I had been dating said he would never marry me because I lacked confidence (among other things) so I painfully walked out on him. Not that his word is in stone or that he has any room to talk, but he actually has a point on this matter.

Particularly since I upped and moved 2 years ago for work. I've had a difficult time with relationships male and female. I haven't quite figured out where I fit in. And when it comes to men, I've become clingy. I'm not a woman that needs a whole lot. I never considered myself "needy." But lately, when I do something to piss someone off, or something that someone doesn't like, I crumble. "Why are you mad at me?" "Don't hate me." "How do I make it better?..." Uhg!! Really!? I'm afraid of loss...and it pisses me off!