Introvert who wants to get better but doesn't know how

Hi everyone,

So I just joined here hoping to get in touch with similar people like myself. And really, hoping to hear some advice. I have very few friends, pretty much no hobbies at all and all I do with my life is go to work, spend time with boyfriend and go home. I'm 28 years old, I'm a systems engineer and painfully anxious and shy. when I was in college, I used to be this wild-eyed child, with the biggest and most adventurous dreams, trying all things, taking on risks and laughing about it. I don't know what happened down the road, but each year that passed by, I just withdrew deeper and deeper into myself until I became... this.

My boyfriend happened to be the opposite of me: he is popular, has a ton of friends and everyone just adores him. He also has big plans for his life and big dreams, so he is always busy, either with work or travelling. I'm happy for him; he leads such a blessed life. But that made me resent my life and existence more. In effect, I became more needy of him, feeling very insecure about myself and my self-worth. The more I became needy, the less he desires me and the more I start hating him.

I am seeing a therapist too because I have anxiety issues as well and a bit of an obsessive personality. I became depressed and I started wishing I do not exist at all, as if existing in itself is just a tiring chore and I'd rather not burden myself with it. Most days, I feel like "if I die today, I'd be okay with it. at least that would offer me some respite." Also, I have had a difficult childhood and some experience with trauma that made me very insecure and needy as an adult.

Some would argue that the solution to this is simple: go out, have friends, have a hobby, STOP making your boyfriend the center of your world (which he is at this point, my world and schedule revolves around him). But the problems with that are: