confusion and general lack of motivation

Hi,

I've never written on a message board before but I have read them for years during some of my darkest moments and I've found them to be extraordinarily helpful - as a matter of fact I'm already crying... not sure why, but I haven't been able to in a while so I guess this is already helping in some weird way.

Not sure where to start with this but I guess the main theme is that I'm finding that I am losing confidence and motivation almost by the second, entering in to what feels like a downward spiral that is causing me to close everyone out. I live in one of the most lively areas of Manhattan and I find myself running to lay in my bed whenever I have the opportunity to do so because it's where I feel most safe. But then I am alone with myself and realize I'm an absolute mess.

I've lived in NYC for nine years or so, have a "glamorous" job that gives me more anxiety than I know what to do with due to an abusive boss and mean coworkers. I have a decent number of friends but I'm at the age where I realize many of us have extremely different priorities - be it getting drunk, having babies, focusing on work, soul searching... everyone is all over the place, so I find it hard to relate to many of them on a consistent basis. I'm close with my family but I'm beginning to feel that they are more worried about me than proud, and considering I've worked my a** off, it's kind of sad. They recently mentioned I'm getting the sh*t kicked out of me while living here. I don't know what I'm trying to prove anymore by staying, but I'm scared to leave. I've been looking for jobs in other cities but haven't locked anything in yet so I feel stuck in a way.