Trying to trust again.

I tried to express this in another thread, but I don't think it came across very clearly so I'll try again.

I've had some bad experiences with people in the past. There is a pattern to them: they tend to be self-absorbed to the point that they say rude things to me without even realizing how awful they sounded. Several of my ex-friends were this way. My ex-bf was this way to a certain degree except that he didn't belittle me, he just didn't care about my feelings. It is probably safe to say that I chose these sorts of people because of my self-esteem level. Maybe I thought I deserved that treatment, or maybe I lacked the insight to recognize it until it had been going on for some time.

Long story short, I've cut out those people. I've been distrustful ever since. I hold grudges against people, for fear that if I forgive them they will hurt me again. I hesitate to share good news about myself, for fear of being mocked. I often feel that I need to downplay myself so people won't hate me if they think I'm too good at something. Perhaps worst of all, I freeze up when people pay attention to me. If they ask my opinion or engage in conversation with me, I get nervous and worry that whatever I say will be met with criticism or rude comments or that the person will attempt to argue with me.