what careers, or rather jobs, have a good balance between working independently and interacting with people?

i'm majoring in computer science, and this issue didn't bother me until i got a full-time job in the field - i spend 99% of the time by myself... and while i do enjoy working on my own, something more than a meeting once a week would've been great. i guess i didn't notice before because studying is a totally different lifestyle.

of course it doesn't help that most people in this office work from home. i could also work from home, but that limits possible interaction even more.

i'm just thinking that perhaps this isn't a good career for me, and perhaps I should do another major...

on the other hand, it's entirely possible to seek interaction in the evenings and on weekends, which I do, but so far it doesn't feel like enough... moreover, after spending the whole day alone, it's sort of difficult to come out of the shell ...

Please share your experiences!

-yes =)

Computer Science is a career that does not allow independence if you work for a company. If you work on your own, you can develop your own programs and such, thus being independent.

There are but a few careers where you have independence and are allowed to express your creativity. I chose a major where I could attain both independence and creativity. I'm a senior in Electrical Engineering. I do not recommend this major. It is extremely difficult and has changed much from previous requirements.

You could use your computer science degree in a smaller company, where independence and interacting with people would be much higher. If you want to be in a big company, be prepared to design specific code for only a part of a program or project. You will be assigned to a cubicle. Job security is a major concern in this case. I know this because I have a friend that works for HP.

jessicakicksbut