Got rear ended, how can I avoid neck pain tomorrow?

I got rear ended today and my mother told me to expect neck pain tomorrow. Should I avoid moving around a lot to minimize the pain or even avoid it? Or is it inevitable?

Thank you!

I'm assuming you got all the driver's information and filed an accident report with the police and your insurance? That's the first step in protecting yourself.

Aside from that, use ice to minimize swelling/inflammation, as that's what leads to most pain and stiffness. If you do experience any pain, see your doctor ASAP, as you could have anything from muscle strain to a damaged tendon or minor fracture - may not be a bad idea to have it checked just in case.

LivingWaterPlease

I'm not a medical professional but when I have any sort of internal injury I ice the area for 15 minutes every hour or as often as possible (not exceeding an hour between icings) to prevent swelling. I believe it's the first 72-hour time period this would be effective during so I would recommend that. Don't know if it'd help with whiplash but doubt it would hurt to try.

You might want to see a Dr. whether or not you feel your injury is serious because if you should have a serious injury at a later date you may need to prove the later accident was the one that caused the serious injury.

It's possible that an insurance company or liable party may try to pin the injury on this accident that just occurred so they wouldn't have to pay for the later injury. Even if they weren't able to establish that, it would sure make matters simpler to be able to present that you have, at this point, a clean bill of health to rule out that possibly.

So going to a Dr. to be cleared of injury would be a way to establish that any future injury wouldn't be attributed to the accident you had today.

• Like 1