cardio with a bicycle, good or bad ?

I have been working out for about 1 1/2 months. My routine consists of 1 day 45 minute brisk walking for cardio, then the next day 30 min brisk walk plus 5 lb weights and a swiss ball. I do these routines 6 days a week. I have gotten VERY bored with the walking, so I bought a mountain mike. Here are the questions i have...

1. Will the mountain bike still provide me with the appropriate cardio?

2. my upper abs are very firm and tight and toned, however, my lower abs (under navel)if flexed I can feel them, but there is a layer of fat over them,also a bit of "love handles" will cardio also help with losing that layer of fat and "love handles"?

3. How long should i be doing my cardio for?

4. Is there a device I can purchase that tells me while doing cardio what my THR is?

5. If i'm 24, what should my THR be to burn as much fat as possible?

Sorry for all the questions, but any help or advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

Ah yes, the infamous cardio questions.

It sounds like your goal is to lose bodyfat. The unfortunate truth is....NO activity is all that efficient at burning bodyfat. For example, a typical 150 pound male will expend about 100 calories per mile of foot travel (regardless of speed). A brisk walk would put you at maybe 4mph, so 400 calories burned over an hour. Now you must subtract the calories expended if said person did NOTHING at all...merely existed. For a male that size, it would be around 100. So, an hour of foot travel garnered 300 calories expended.

A single pound of bodyfat is approximately 3600 calories of energy. That's 12 HOURS or 48 MILES. Not very efficient is it?