went to my first Al Anon meeting tonight

Katherineos123

Growing up, both of my biological parents were alcoholics... My parents split, more or less never saw my "father" again, my mother remarried to a wonderful man who raised me and loved me as his own. My mother's drinking progressively got worse. She passed away 6 years ago, in part to her alcoholism.

As a result of my mothers death, my step father became depressed, and he himself was drinking in excess... to the point where we were watching him self destruct. And were sure the worst was inevitable.

He went into detox over the summer and we thought things were looking up. Over the winter his drinking has started again. He still goes to AA meetings, but he's also drinking again.. He's all I have. And for the last 5 years Ive lived in constant fear of losing him.

I went to my first Al Anon meeting tonight, Ive been speaking about going for a few months, but finally got the gusto actually go. It was a pleasurable and relatively therapeutic experience, but I just dont know how much it can help me with my fears, my guilt, my despair.

Does anyone else have any experience with the program?

SincereOnlineGuy
Growing up, both of my biological parents were alcoholics... My parents split, more or less never saw my "father" again, my mother remarried to a wonderful man who raised me and loved me as his own. My mother's drinking progressively got worse. She passed away 6 years ago, in part to her alcoholism.

As a result of my mothers death, my step father became depressed, and he himself was drinking in excess... to the point where we were watching him self destruct. And were sure the worst was inevitable.

He went into detox over the summer and we thought things were looking up. Over the winter his drinking has started again. He still goes to AA meetings, but he's also drinking again.. He's all I have. And for the last 5 years Ive lived in constant fear of losing him.