How do I get over this?

Primrose

Hi, this is my first time posting but I just needed to get this out and get some advice. I was in a four year long relationship with someone who was very abusive, but I did not see it when I was with him. I moved across the country to live with him when I was 19 and then his behavior changed and he started getting angry at the drop of a hat. I got called every name in the book. I had to walk on egg shells around him. No disagreement seemed to be solvable between us because he had a way of twisting things around so they were always my fault, and little things just turned into explosive rage when it came to him. I felt trapped because I had moved for him, and all my friends and family back home thought he was a great guy and I was embarrased for anyone to find out the truth. It was exhausting pretending to be happy.

At first, he would pinch me if he got mad, then soon enough he'd grab my arm really hard while yelling at me, then shoving, and soon enough he hit me. One night he came home drunk and attacked me. There wasn't even a fight, he just clobbered me. I curled up into a ball on the couch where I had been sitting and he mostly got my legs.

The next day i had horrible briuses on my legs, nasty and purple and it hurt to walk. I showed him and he begged for forgiveness, just begged and begged until finally I said it was alright. Then he never said a word about it again...nothing.

This was a year after I'd moved in with him. Usually, he was a nice guy but his moments of anger were terrible, i was holding on hoping he would change, pleading with him just to be nice to me. THen he dumped me. It was for the best I thought, but I didn't really have the money to get home. I saved for about a month and he didn't help me pack or anything and then calulated down to the day how much rent I owed him for that month...then I drove home alone.