Paying for trip

Not sure if this is the right place to post. So I apologize in advance.

I met a guy on a vacation and we have been in touch since then. He offered to come and visit me but I declained due to my busy schedule. Now, I finally decided to visit him and I am kind of going out of my way to do so. I will have to skip one day of school and also my financial situation isnt great (he lives on west and I live on the east coast. I prefer to visit him to him.) I asked where to stay and he offered a bedroom in his house. He lives with his brother and sister in law. I told him I would prefer a hotel and he finally agreed and told me he will let me know what the best hotels are in the area.

Problem is: I couldnt help but feel little annoyed that he didnt offer to pay or split the hotel expenses. I am a student and he has a full-time well-paid job. The flight ticket is also expensive

Do I expect too much?

Yes you expect too much. He offered to come to you, presumably solely at his expense. You turned that down. You volunteered to go to him. Therefore your trip & your hotel accommodations are on you. If you wanted him to pay you should have let him come to you.

Check out sites like Priceline & hotwire.com to get deals. Consider airbnb to cut your costs. Don't go if you really can't afford it but don't expect that he has any obligation to fly you across the country & pay for it. That is an entitled unattractive attitude.

• Like 5

Last person I visited under similar circumstances I offered to get hotel rooms for both of us (we were going to be on the road after I flew in) and she ended up getting us a cabin. However, I still offered and actually made the hotel reservations and then cancelled them after she talked me into the cabin thing.

IMO, if choosing to visit, and I've done this plenty, even overseas in other countries, the person visiting is responsible for getting there and staying there.