Physically Abusive Relationship

heavyheart444

Hello everyone – I’m a newbie here. I’m so happy to have found a support forum like this and I’m really looking forward to hearing from others. I’m in a bad BAD situation. This I know. I’m completely aware. NO denying of it. I’ve been with my live in boyfriend for 4 years now and he’s been physically and verbally abusive. Mostly when we’re drinking. There have been a few situations that have happened that made me lose complete trust in him (cheating). When we drink I sometimes can get beligerent and mouthy because of things and in return (not always) he’ll getphysical.

I’ve told him that it’s not ok to behave this way when he’supset. He says he can’t control himself and I shouldn’t poke a bear with a stick. There have been times he has apologized and times when he hasn’t. There are some instances where he says that I brought it upon myself, etc. etc.

I’m wondering if it is me. If I wouldn’t argue with him or bring anything up then it wouldn’t happen.

But then there are times that I bring up something totally legitimate and if it’s not something he wants to hear he gets upset.

I love this man more than anything. When he’s good he’s soooooo good. He’s amazing. That just makes it harder for me.

I just started seeing a counselor and I’m trying to figure out why I can’t leave him. I have talked to him about getting help and he doesn’t think he needs it.

I know that leaving him is the right thing to do. I just can’t bring myself to do it. I’m so afraid of being without him and I fearsome other woman is going to wind up with the man that I love (the good sides of him) and that he’ll change for another woman. I know it’s totally bizarre thinking but my counselor told me that I’m in a fog. It’s very hard for me to make rational decisions because I’m so torn mentally by allof this. I feel like it’s what I deserve, etc. etc.