rent vs buy?

burningashes

I'll try to keep everything concise and to the point.

Background info:

My boyfriend got a call from another city (his hometown, which is across the country way east) that they want him to work for them. He has to finish his 18 month probation here as a police officer before he can even apply, which is in March at the earliest- which is IF they hire him right away. He wants to move back there eventually at some point. We've had discussions about this and I'm pretty much in the mindset that this relationship will turn into a LDR at some point as I am trying to finish my degree of which I have 2 years left to complete. So if he has to leave, I have to stay behind to finish school- I told him that I couldn't go anywhere until I got my degree and I wasn't going to stop him from moving for his job. We've come to an understanding and sort of have a plan so far for this.

Current situation:

He's been living in a condo that he has to pay 1100 a month, with neighbours that party all the time and he absolutely hates it because they keep him up when he needs the sleep. He works night and day shifts, so it's necessary for him to find a house. He's been on the fence about renting or buying- I'm going to move in with him either way, in fact, we are looking at places right now. We both need more space and we've decided we're going to get a house either way (if he decides to buy a house, it'll be his own mortgage, we won't be sharing that.)