Daughter dating boy from rich family.

dixiegal

My high school aged daughter has been dating a boy from a very wealthy family. They own two huge houses, horses, several vehicles. It's her first boyfriend. He is a sweet kid and his family is very nice.

I am new at all this daughter dating boys stuff. :love::sick:

My daughter does not work or drive yet. (My daughter will get a job when she is able, right now she is focusing on school.)Her boyfriend does not work or drive yet. He does make a good allowance working around the house for his family.

The thing is, his family spends money like there is no tomorrow.:o

We are middle to lower middle class. We have a budget. We cannot afford to randomly spend money. Everything has to be budgeted. I can't just go out shopping any time I want. We don't do things like go to the movies unless it is planned. We rarely eat out unless it's planned for. We rarely buy new clothes unless it's for the new school year. You get the idea.

I just cannot compete with this ! I don't know what to do. :confused:

Examples:

We didn't plan on getting his family anything for Christmas, or getting him anything BECAUSE they had only been dating two weeks. His family gave us 100.00 and he gave my daughter 50.00. I was humiliated that I didn't give them anything but a card.:o

His mother bought me an EXPENSIVE bottle of perfume at the mall when we all went out together. I didn't know she was going to do it. I just mentioned I liked it and next thing I know, she got it for me. :eek: She said it was for me being a good mom and that good moms deserve appreciation.

We gave him 20.00 in a card and some candy for his birthday. On my daughter's birthday he gave her a real gold necklace and his mom gave her 50.00.

She takes my daughter/her son out and spends a lot of money on them. Movies, fancy dinner, shopping. My daughter came home last time with an outfit, jewelry, hoodie, and body spray.