Being a Step Parent to a Teenager?

Otter2569

Any advise on being a step parent to a teenager?

I have not proposed yet but am very nervous about being a step parent and am quite happy being the steady BF.

Her daughter is 15 and a freshman in HS. Honestly her daughter is a great kid but much more dramatic, outspoken and mature than my two boys. There are also instances of jealousy between her and I (that would be the daughter jealous of her mom and I being together).

The kid can also be rude and pretty lazy when it comes to helping out around the house. I know its typical teenage crap but still...it is just starting and I have no experience with that. I keep my mouth shut but I know it wouldn't be able to hold back if we were all together under one roof. I would prefer to wait to get married until the kids are out of high school.

As the BF its much more tolerable - plus I have my own place as a refuge. I worry that the daughter would end up coming between us based on some of the things I witness.

• Like 2

I like how much thought you're putting into this, being a step-parent can be really hard work!

I think your idea of waiting till high school is done is a sensible one.

My fiance is living with my 16yo and I. My son is pretty much the only friction we have in our relationship due to his volitile personality.

It's come close to wrecking things for us a couple of times, my man is very patient and tolerant plus we have a weekend place only a few minutes away that he, I or the two of us can escape to if need-be.

• Like 3

I do not have a kids. I dated one guy who had a teenaged son. I left the parenting of his kid to him. I viewed myself more as a responsible adult in the kid's life who had some obligations for the kid's safety & well being. Meaning I made sure there was food for him to eat, a bed for him to sleep in, clean clothes & he wasn't doing anything that could get him hurt.