Parents refuse to even acknowledge boyfriend's existence- !

waterskiaholic

waterskiaholic

First of all, my deepest thanks to anyone who is patient enough to read this through.

Hello! I am in my 3rd year of college and at the beginning of the year started seeing an amazing man, whom I will call 'Ted.' About a month after we started dating (and before things got terribly serious, though they were certainly headed in that direction) my parents came to my college to watch my swim meet, along with my grandmother, and I invited Ted, because I didn't know the next time they would be in the same place, and figured they'd like to atleast have an idea of him. They did not say a word when I introduced him. My father shunned his offer of help to grab some chairs with a very rude "I don't need help.," and neither parent said a word to him the entire meet... 2 hours. Afterwards, we went out to lunch, and they didn't say anything to him there, either. As we were getting ready to go, my parents were asking me for directions for the easiest way to get where they were going, and I very nicely said, "well why don't you ask Ted, he's lived here his whole life." My father's response? "I have maps and a GPS, I don't need to." Whenever I bring him up, the extent of their comments is "hm." (My grandma, on the other hand, adores him- they talked for over an hour and I couldn't get a word in edgewise.) He's perfectly respectable, clean, no drugs, doesn't only want me for my body, well educated, has a job and is returning to school in the fall for graduate school. He is a much better catch than any of the guys I have dated in the past (no, not blinded by love, but thanks for doubting me), and I feel more deeply about him than any of them. I've tried to express this all to them, but they won't listen. Or hear me, I guess I should say.