I want to make this painting for my daughter

HonestNeurotic

HonestNeurotic

I usually post in other forums here on LS that have to do with male/female relationships. However, I am seeking some advice on a situation that I now have with my daughter.

She recently had her first baby. Age 32. A little yuppie uppity, but hey, it was me that raised her. N E Wayz. She live in So Cal (where I did as well until I got divorced from her dad) I live in Chicagoland. So distance is a problem.

She's great. Love her and am so proud of her. We also don't always get along that well. I changed and am kinda hippy like.

I give you these details cuz I think that mayhaps it matters?

SO - my baby girl had a baby girl! So much excitement!

I am an artist. I am also currently not having the best time in the world with finances. So - I wanted to make a special painting for her. For my daughter and my granddaughter and of course, her husband. I have a specific theme in mind. I know the story of why they made the middle name for their little girl "Bee", as in bumble bees. So I want to make a painting of that. Three bees. Momma bee, Papa Bee and Baby Bee.

My question is - IS THAT LAME?

I haven't told her about it, don't want to, want it to be a surprise when she receives it. But is that "lame"?

I ask because I come from the family of dysfunction and hence, well, I've not been a bad parent, and was not what they were, but SHUDDER to ever think that I am doing something that I would look at my mother as being bat*& crazy. i.e., oh look - mom sent a painting of bees, how stupid is that?

• Like 3
  • Author
HonestNeurotic

Thanks for your responses. Sadly drawing THINGS - is really really hard for me. I'm great at abstract stuff. But I SINCERELY had this idea as soon as I got the text - The bee has landed.....

It's a kinda silly little love story with her and her hubby about the "bee". Her words: