Househusbandry

Esoteric Elf

Esoteric Elf

Not sure if this or a post similar to this has been made, but here goes.

After talking with a girl I know (who is a doctor hopeful), I got to thinking, how would life be like with a slight gender reversal and, furthermore, how many men would not mind it (with caveats?)? For instance, I am currently a retail manager, but also an aspiring author (please don't point and laugh). What if I were to marry a girl, like, say, a doctor (or a woman of any other profession which demands long hours away from home) and myself become a financially viable author, and we have a family. In order for her to pursue her profession and to help raise the family, I could put aside my current job in order to pursue writing full time...and househusbandry. I would tend the house, help raise the children, cook the meals, etc. She would come home at night, stressful as may be, and the meal would be on the table and I could give her a massage, etc.. The thought pleased me, but I am more of a children and homebody person anyway.

Question is, how many guys here would do the same? Would you do the same if you had no job? I admit that if I were not employed by some means, I might be less inclined to be a househusband if I were not working on or toward some sort of vocation.

Thoughts, or am I alone on this?

I had a househusband for almost a decade and, ultimately, if was one of the reasons our relationship failed.

In the beginning of our relationship, I was going to school full time for my Masters - working part-time jobs before and after - and he worked nights so he took care of the house during the day and we spent time together on weekends.

After I graduated, we moved and I essentially supported him with the idea that he would take care of the house and work on his music (he was an outstanding guitarist, had sold some songs for some decent money, and we invested in various expensive mixing boards and whatnot).