Parents' separation + relation with Mum on rocky grounds

Pedigree

About 9 months ago, I found out that my parents were separated. They actually have been separated for 18 months but the news was kept from me. I don't live in the same state as my parents because I'm studying at university. It turns out, that was grounds for trying to cover things up.

I had to force the news out of my mum. It was just getting suspicious how she started dropping in to Sydney during mid-semester breaks and when it was my turn to come back home, she's always missing on a "business trip". Don't know how they're gonna break the news to my older brother who works overseas. Feel sorry for my younger brother who had to keep quiet.

I played the role of the supportive son "Yeah I understand", "If you don't feel love anymore, don't force it" "bla, bla, bla". Then probably 6 months ago, my Mum got a new boyfriend. When she came to visit, she introduced him to me. We got along fine and my Mum seemed happy.

During my last semester holiday, I went to visit my Mum at the place that she and her boyfriend moved into. I hate to say this, but I felt quiet left out at that place. There were occasions where I was left alone in the living room whilst she and the boyfriend, along with the boyfriend's friends have a few beers out back. I was never asked to join them, pretty much was ignored when I went to get a beer myself. Call me attention seeking, but it's not like I see her everyday and it's not a good feeling to be left out when I'm there. I kept my mouth shut. Would've said something but Mum and I never got a chance just to speak 1 on 1.

After some days, I went to my Dad's place. He asked me how was thing at Mum's and it struck a bit of a nerve so I pretty much started to rant.