Emergency Issue

HelianthusRay

HelianthusRay

Hi...let me tell my story as quickly and briefly as I can.

I am a 21-year-old college student who has been dependent on my parents for most of my college life for things like rent, school, etc. I had attended college in my home state for three years, and this summer I traveled 1000 miles to take summer classes in another state (at a school I have been considering for grad. school). My parents didn't really support it, but they still helped me get out here. We haven't had a good relationship for a very long time. My mom likes to pretend that we are a perfect family, but it is far from the truth. My parents have been very controlling since I turned 12 or 13, well particularly my mother. I have been verbally, emotionally, and physically abused (disciplined....at 18-19??) and it has done major damage to my self-esteem and ability to function properly. A quick example of this: When I was 15, I developed an eating disorder....of course I hid it from my parents and the rest of the world. Finally, after almost a year, I broke down at school and told a counselor, who told my mom. She picked me up from school, slapped me, and told me that I was ruining our family image and that WE don't have those kinds of problems. I never got the help I needed for my eating disorder, and it still haunts me. I still have months where I engage in unhealthy behaviors. This is beside the point.