A classic tale...

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I'm at a stage where I don't know where to go for advice or support, so I've found myself here.

My tale is not unusual, unfortunately. My husband had an affair with my friend, in a nutshell.

We'd been together for 16 years, my entire adult life and, while our marriage wasn't perfect, I thought we were happy, I was proud of my family, my marriage and being able to call him my husband. We had plans, a future and now, that's all gone.

A condensed version of the story is that, in December my 'friend's' husband (also my friend) kindly informed me that his wife and my husband had a 3 month long affair, 6 months previous. He'd found out after being suspicious and setting up recording equipment in their lounge and recording them having sex. Classy... Even with this knowledge, they continued to be my friends, came to my house for dinner, we went to the cinema as 2 sets of couples. A very strange situation. I'd had feelings that things weren't right, but I was told I was needy, insecure, I questioned whether or not I was suffered with a touch of depression as the feelings that things weren't as they should be wouldn't go away. My husband asked me for a divorce twice, with no explanation and blamed his behaviour on having too much beer and laughed it off.

So, in December it all came out after my suspicions became too much. I asked him to leave, told him I wanted us to separate. He agreed. Didn't try to change my mind, didn't fight for me. I'm fickle here, because I didn't want him to, but it would have been nice if he'd at least tried.

Within 6 weeks, he was shacked up with another girl. That's a whole other story...

We have a daughter together, who's 14 and we also got full custody of his son's from his first marriage when they were 5 and 6 (now 20 and 21).