Is it time to quit trying??

I am a newbie to this site. Well actually to any chat forum. I married my high school boyfriend- 4 months after graduation- that has been 24 years ago. About 12 years ago he became disabled because of back problems. He is on pain meds for chronic pain. I do realize a certain amount of addiction comes from long term use. Well over the last few years this has gotten to be a problem - he says he always hurts so he ends up taking all his meds before time to have them filled again. I have caught him buying them, he took my medication after a surgery I had- each time I have caught him and threatened to leave he has promised that he would get it under control and never do it again- well guess what it has happen many times over the last several years. A few days ago he stole meds from a relative we were visiting. I gave him a choice of either going together to his doctor and telling him that he has a problem and seek help or he needed to leave. He refused to let me go with him to the doctor- said he could get it under control just give him time. I feel I have given so much time and energy I don't have any more to give. This addiction of his has caused so much pain - I know that he has cheated once. We have 2 children and my main concern is them - they are very close to both of us and are unaware of any problems. I guess I am a little afraid too- since I have never been alone. Went straight from living with my parents to being married. I am also afraid for him- I worry what will happen to him if he looses it all.

I have not confided in anyone about this and I guess that's why I decided to post on here. I am a Christian, I believe that marriage is a commitment for life, but I am not a perfect person and I don't know how much one person can or should take to hold marriage together.