Ready to move on but when? how?

Ready To Move On

I am new to using "any" forum - I know that I will divorce him but "when"???

I have been married to him for almost 20yrs & together 23yrs. We have 2 children - almost 18 with another year to go in high school and the other almost 14 starting high school next year.

I have been unhappy for so many of the years of marriage & now that I am older can admit that as many of us do, I went way to fast. I got out of a very hurtful split with my ex from over 7yrs - dated a few & then found someone that "i thought i loved". I am a very loving and giving person and by fault try to help everyone all the time. I have a huge heart but sadly give more to others than I ever have myself. I stayed with him as it was secure and new and not a horrible thing. Then i got pregnant. Got married. And there you go. The reason I have never left. My son. Then my father suddenly died at the age of 49 & out of the emotions we decided we would make it work and have another child. I have NO regrets that I met this man as everything happens for a reason and I would never have had my wonderful boys without him.

He has been a very verbally and emotionally abusive person for so long. We were always on egg shells. After I told him I wanted a divorce the first time over 2 yrs ago he started to make some positive changes & has learned to yell less. But it is still a huge issue. He thinks that one session with a counselor for his anger was enough. There are so many reasons to get a divorce now that it is crystal clear.