Newbie here

wolfsuit

Hi, I am completely new to actually posting anything to a forum like this. Lately I've been reading a lot of them, and it bums me out to see that it's almost all split 50/50, with half of people saying just give her space and it will work out, and people saying "space" means it's over, no chance at fixing this. I am hoping to post my situation and hope to see if I gain further clarity from you fine people. I'll try to keep it brief and see if anyone wants me to dive deeper into details. Thank you for reading.

My girlfriend and I have been together a little over 2 1/2 years. I'm 34, and she is 41. She is a widower with two kids, whom I've grown close to. She currently lives with overbearing parents (moved back in after her husband died a few years back). Through our time together we have each grown quite a bit and she's had a huge career change. We started off almost as a sexual fling, a way for her to escape her kids and we had intense sexual chemistry. Within the first year we realized that we cared much deeper than just physically for each other. I was in a different place than her, younger, always had lived alone and had a "bachelor" pad by the beach. She was an hour inland in the suburbs with her parents and kids. She would escape them and come see me to get away.

About a year ago, last summer, she almost left me and needed space because she didn't want to keep doing the same dance and never thought I'd be ready to move in with her and take on her kids, or that it would take me 5 years to do so, and she didn't have the patience. It tore me up badly but I waited and she came back to me after about a month.