Mixed Messages??

My boyfriend and I broke up about a week ago. Up until then our relationship was basically perfect. We spoke to each other very kindly, he was very romantic towards me. We never really fought or anything. He was very supportive of my goals, and always pushed me to do better. He was also very good at dealing with my anxiety and was incredibly patient every time I had an attack. I helped him with his schoolwork and motivated him to get into the schools that he wanted. It was a very supportive and loving relationship. The only issue I would say that we had was that we had become too comfortable and had fallen into a routine. He is an EMT and I am a nursing student, so we are basically always tired and busy. Our dates went from being extravagant and fun to napping or watching Netflix. On top of this, he recently turned 21 and so he has been going out a lot with his friends while i got left at home alone. I started becoming concerned with how often he was drinking, and this led to the fight that caused us to break up.

When we broke up, he simply said that although we love each other, there is not really any excitement any more and that both of us needed some time to work on ourselves. He said he needed time to be young and have fun. He kept kissing me and touching me and we were going back and forth between crying and kissing and telling each other we loved each other until he finally just broke up with me out of nowhere. A few hours later, he texted me saying "I still care about you a lot, this isn't goodbye forever, just for right now". I asked him what he meant, and he said that we both needed to focus on our own goals for right now, but if our paths happened to cross when we were ready to be together, that it could happen again. He also said " people who love each other are never far apart." It has been very hard to move on, as I feel like I have been holding onto this sense of hope that we'll be together again or that he'll change his mind.