Fighting for the one

I have never written on something like this before but I've searched the Internet to no avail and because every situation is different. I. Me and my now ex broke up after 5 years together about 8 weeks ago. At first it was 'okay' we both needed space because our situation had changed (I work about 100 mlies away currently and only tend to travel back at weekends). Then it was her birthday and I sent her flowers and she text me saying thank you and hope I was doing okay. We then proceeded to spend the week together and re- kindled the flame somewhat

By the end of the week though it became clear to her that I had to go back to work and cut off all contact again. I thought it would be temporary while she finds herself. Essentially I got a fantastic Oppourtunity to work away (with yes I'll admit good money and oppourtunities) while she is not that way inclined, for example she is so scared about ,living away from home which I can understand and never pushed her on the matter.

A few more weeks went by and something clicked that she may not return. I got nervous and panicky and went back into old habits ( I suffered in the past with anxiety) to the point where I contacted her to say hello. Her reply was extremely cold saying she wasn't going to message me back.

Hearing her like that destroyed me inside. So,e time went on and from speaking to others back home it became clear she was not doing so good. For example one person mentioned me to her and she welled up with tears. I need to add I take no pleasure in hearing that.

We had too many memories, too many positives, too many plans to let it all go away. Her reasons for the break up were that we grew apart but I don't see that as insurmountable. I assume underneath that she is scared about growing up aswell , she likes to have the fun life like nights out, holidays and she recent turned 26 and I think that scares her a lot.