Over 1 year, NC, still crushed.

Onthelevel

I had dated a girl who I thought was going to be the one person I'd be with forever. The only person I've taken it to "that level" with after dating so many. It was kind of happenstance how we met, as I travel a lot for work. I met her the first month I was living in a new town, and I'd never felt anything like it. No games, just honesty, consistency, and 6 months later after all due process, I had finally told her I loved her, and so happy she was crying, she said it back. 4 years had passed, though after 2 years were very "on/off" in terms of the title, but always were very in love and loyal only to one another.

I was contractually obligated to move around and work was killing me. Was literally destroying who I was. I work in the renewable energy sector, and was putting in very long, hard days as a foreman. I was undermanned, and at my it was breaking my heart and everything I was. I distanced myself from her because I could feel my anger and rage build up to a point I had never seen, and I didn't want for one second for her to feel that rage. She would call and I would be very short, cold. Always putting her off, but sometimes we would talk as usual. The kind of love you feel for people is really indescribable, but I just felt every time I heard her voice, that it was "my person."

After a job in a neighboring state, I had a few days before I had to move all the way to New York for another job that was even further behind schedule and further complicated by change orders and a number of other factors. I made it 2,800 miles in 3 days. Arrived in New York at 2am, went to work at 5 am, worked until 6pm and an hour drive back to a dingy motel where I would live the next couple of months.