Hard break up after a parents death.. !

This is my first time posting, and I am really just looking for support and advice. sorry for the long post

I will with my, now ex, for 2 years, we are 20 now, and despite being young had a very mature and healthy relationship. We were able to deal with tough times in our life together and make big decisions together. We were very loyal and open to each other, were close with each others families, very happy, and in love. He always promised to never leave me despite the hardships that come our way. About 7 months ago his mother unexpectedly passed away, I was there with him through it all. Due to the timing and him leaving for college to play Division 1 basketball, he never really grieved and worked through it.

The last month of us dating got a little more difficult as his my anxiety and his stress built up and we argued more often, we never stopped being in love and taking care of each other. A month ago though, he broke up with me randomly while I was home from school. He said that I had been mean to him and taking my stress out on him, but he loved me and if it was meant to be it would work out, he said he needed me to get better.