I'm still looking for answers

BrightlyBlazing

BrightlyBlazing

I'm a grad student and lesbian. About 14 months ago I met an amazing undergraduate senior (also a lesbian) with whom I had a lot in common, and we really hit it off. We became friends at first, and then grew closer over the year, watching shows and movies together, and I helped her with homework a lot and encouraged her to go to grad school, and in February I let her know that I had developed deep feelings for her and asked her out. She turned me down. Oddly, though, it seemed to bring us closer. She started telling me about her interest in a mutual friend. I encouraged her to pursue it, because it seemed like a good fit for her and she really, really cared about the other girl, maybe loved her, who also seemed interested. But she was turned down.

We got through the next month or so together as friends, and then dealt with a very personal and emotional loss together (deeper loss for her than for me, but it also affected me deeply). She started a new job (which was hard for her, because she has deep social anxiety issues), and I helped her to face that. We started joking that we were an amazing team, a duo that could handle anything together. Best Friends.

I was trying to get over her. I went on dates, I flirted with girls, but I didn't want anyone but her. But it was miserable dating, and one time she asked why going on dates with people never made me happy and I told her 'it wasn't the person I wanted to be with.' She cuddled me and watched our favorite show with me.

I was resigned and accepting of the fact that we were only going to be best friends, and I was cool with that. But one day as we were both working on final papers together, she suddenly started initiating affection with me. When I asked her what was going on, she said she was interested in dating. A week later I was standing in front of my class (I was a TA) and introducing my 'girlfriend' to them (she was listening to the lecture.)