I was THAT close..

Hi everyone. I was googling around when I met this forum and I liked it because it does have some real stories. That immediately surrounded me with some kind of unexpected warmth..

Before you start reading, I have to tell you it’s about a sad story.. If you are not into that, better off skip this thread..

THE BEGINNING

I was a telecoms consultant for years and during a project I had to spend in Manila quite some time. I’m not really a fan of the kind of mini skirt hunting championship is taking place over there and after the first 1-2 months of “game” I got bored and preferred to stay single. I like nice and simple girls to be honest, with a kind heart.

Then (about 2,5+ years ago) I met this scared and curious, low profile Korean girl. To cut it short, the beginning was quite difficult, but her character and story won me entirely. She was sent there ALONE (father decided the mother to take care of him) with her 9 and 11 year old stepbrothers to take them to school because her father thought that only in this country they will learn English (that’s a joke). And she had to stop uni in korea (can you believe these guys?). What I want to say here.. she is a simple girl.

She was 20 and I was 30. It took her months to trust me her story, finally we fell for each other. After a year she told me that when she was 11(!) her mother disappeared for a year and she had to babysit her step-brothers and manage a step-dad who was obviously resentful to her because she reminded him of her mother. Imagine, 3 years in Manila, the father never visited, never called the kids, never sent Xmas presents. And of course she never had time for herself to go uni there, etc, sitting all day in a house and managing siblings, maids, bills..

Initially, I tried a lot to get her revolt, but I wasn’t familiar with her culture yet and it took me a long time to understand how much massaging it did require (plus that my temperament is rather Mediterranean).

THE BOND