Broken-hearted after cold break up

Hello everybody

This is my first time posting and I'm hoping that you'll be able to share your advice and experiences with me.

I have recently broken up with my boyfriend for the second time. Communication problems and petty arguments have been frequent as of late and I was really feeling that he was acting very selfishly. I communicated this with him and asked if there was anything going on/he wanted to talk about because his behaviour had been irregular for him. He said he had nothing to talk about.

A week later, and he has dumped me, stating that he doesn't have the will to try and work out our differences. He says that he has doubts and cannot give me the love and support I want and that we are not on the same level of commitment. In fact, he was very cold and direct and is was shocked that he had bottled so much up.

I cannot help but feel he took real offence to me suggesting his behaviour is selfish; perhaps I've touched a raw nerve. He has been withdrawing all week ever since I said it. He seemed angry and irrational during the break up as if he was doubting his actions.

I have deleted phone numbers, texts, emails, photos - everything. I have asked him to never contact me again. He believes that we will cross paths again in the future but I am so hurt that it's so insulting he would even suggest it. Importantly, his cruel, cold and sudden outlet of negative feelings has left me with very raw and painful insecurities that have been buried for some time. I understand that I contributed to the demise of our relationship but I'm so devastated by how cruel and cold he was during the break up.

Has anyone had this experience before? How do you move past it?

I would very much appreciate your words.

SycamoreCircle

OP, I experienced a version of what you're talking about. It was difficult for me to come to terms with the reality that I was with someone who could not adequately express what they needed.