A Letter to My Ex Girlfriend...

I was thinking about my ex, and I remember a year ago, I promised myself that after a year has passed, I'd write a letter to her.

It's been over a year since we broke up. I'm ready to write the letter, but I won't send it to her. Instead I'll post it here for you guys to read. Maybe I'll inspire someone. So prepare to read a letter addressed to my ex that I would have sent if I wanted to contact her today.

Dear Ex

It's been a year, hasn't it? I would ask how you are doing, but I have no need to be socially correct. That was one of our issues anyway. I just want to get some things on my chest.

I still miss you, and a part of me hates myself for missing you. But it's different. I miss what we had. I remember that we first started hanging out through your friend. I was an awkward college freshman and you a junior at our liberal arts college. The rest is history. We talked as friends for 4 months and then I asked you out. Before I knew it, we were in a relationship.

It was beautiful. You were my first girlfriend. In reality, you were my first close friend. You and I shared similar interests, spent hours talking, and went on many different dates as college kids. I remember we said I love you to each other in a flowery patch called "Flower Hill" We even took each other's virginities. I loved to cuddle, hang out, work on projects together, all of it.

Then you left school and so did I, and you persisted on a long distance relationships. It lasted two years.

I used to be so angry at how it ended. I remember I thought I was being paranoid and clingy, as you told me "You're losing your mind, there's no way I'd cheat on you. I'm just going through a lot and need space"

But you did. You did cheat. Not only that, I was nearly convinced to go get myself checked in an insane asylum because you absolutely made me feel like crap. All in an effort to cover up your lies, which when you were caught, all you said was things change.