Long-Distance Rebound

So this is my first time on the forums, and my first real breakup (male, 27), and was hoping to get some advice from individuals with more relationship experience than myself, so anything is appreciated.

So I dated a girl (female, 25) for about a year, long-distance (5 hour drive). It was both of our first long-term relationships and I was the first one she ever had sex with. We were a good couple, but I was, at least to her, lagging emotionally behind so initiated a break up in March of this year. We made it a mutual decision, but that didnt last terribly long and continued to meet up on and off, until she went to NY to work for four months. I initiated the break up because I had fallen in love with her and did not know how to handle my emotions - basically I was scared. I never told her I loved her in the relationship.

So, when she returned from NY she meet me at my apartment and we were still in the deciding if we wanted to be friends or more stage. I certainly wanted more, but with verbal confirmation. I went down for her birthday in September and we had a great time, but were sending each other mixed signals. Throughout the month she was flirting with me by text, but I was rather harsh with her and told her that to go find someone else (in hopes that she would ask for me back). However, within 3 weeks she found another guy in her own city and was being cold and aloof to me over the phone and text. After a month, she told me about him. I was shocked, but kept my cool and congratulated her, etc., said to keep me in mind. I had a hard three weeks and then sent her a Facebook message telling her that I loved her. It was either ignored or not read (she was working 4 jobs). My phone calls were definitely ignored, so I went drove down and surprised her and told her that I loved her and apologized for my actions. She said she didnt love me anymore and didnt see me as marry-able as well as that I was bad to her as a bf.