The Engagement Ring

Hi..

This is my first time visiting this website. At first, I thought that I would quickly browse through the topics and leave but as you can see, I registered and I already have a few questions. Here is my situation:

I am a recent college graduate in Electrical/Computer Engineering. I begin work on the 9th of June and after that, majority of my financial problems will fade away. I have known my fiancee for 4 years although we have only been a couple since October 2002 but I finally won her heart. She will graduate in December of 2002 and is currently applying to jobs in the same city as me. I told her that she can live with me until she finds a job/career. Anyways, I proposed to her and she accepted. Then I told her that it was more of a promise proposal because I am very traditional and I when I propose to her, I want to be able to get on one knee and ask her to be my wife, and then put a ring on her finger. We agreed not to tell anyone other than our siblings and close close friends. When I originally asked her to marry me, I could not afford a ring that I considered worthy of her wearing. I've been going to several different ring shops looking mainly pricing rings. I know that she likes the princess cut platinum solitaire and has a size 6 finger. With this in mind, the only real confusion is what is a good size diamond for my queen? I have no concept of what normal married couple's engagement rings look like, but I an leaning towards a 1.25 carat diamond. Is this a good choice? Please help me.

Thanks

If your lady cares that much, don't marry her. A woman who loves you will be happy with whatever you get for her ring finger...within reason.