Money Matters?

I only make 14 dollars an hour even though I have my bachelors degree and now going to get my masters. I was wondering if I have any business getting married to someone when I only make 14 a hour and that I am suppose to support them. Please tell me what you think.

Although I have accumlated approx. 100,000 in savings (partly for a house) for when we get married and about another 30,000 for retirement I really question if I only make 14 a hour if I should ask anyone to get married to me. To the woman even though you do not really know me how would you feel in this situation if I were to ask you to marry me.

You need to do the math. Will your wife work as well?

I think you can pull it off if the two of you are frugal and talk it over ahead of time. But it will be tight.

You'll have to figure this one out. A great deal more data would be required for use to come up with a ballpark answer.

If you can save that kind of money making $14 per hour, I'd say you could do pretty well at just about anything. After all, it's not really how much you make....but how much you save and how you handle what you make.

Looks like you're doing a great job.

Aren't you the one who comes by here once in a while asking questions about telling ladies how much money you have?

I think you're right, Tony. Sounds like the same guy who's been coming here off and on, pretty much preoccupied by the amount of money he has saved up over the years, the fact that he's still a virgin, all worried about whether he should get a prenuptual agreement should he ever find a gal to marry (to protect his thousands). It's sort of weird, really.

I have to ask.....why would a guy who's got $130,000 in savings/investments be worrying so darn much about money and whether he can support a wife on a $14 an hour job. Regardless of his wealth, there's no rule saying a guy has to totally financially support his wife...no reason why she can't work too.