Opening up to my best friend

Missedchance

Hello, this is my first time on this website. I've been struggling with this problem for a few years now. It's recently gotten more stressful and I need an outside opinion. It's too personal for me to talk about in person so I appreciate everyone who has input or opinions for me.

One of my best friends I met a few years ago. We worked together and quickly became good friends. After a few months to a year I realized I started to have stronger feelings for him. I'm a guy also and this was the first time I'd ever had feelings like this for another guy. It was really weird and confusing for me. It seemed like we connected better than any other person I've ever met. After a while it developed into some pretty serious feelings. I was too afraid to say anything because I was nervous that I was just misreading or misinterpreting signals from him. The last thing I'd want to do is make him feel uncomfortable or lose him as a friend. We both say we're straight but we've also had some awkwardly close moments and it's like we're different people when we are together. It's like there is this strong close feeling that I'm sure he feels too although it could just be me misinterpreting this too. So I kind of just pushed the feelings down and tried to forget about it.