How to gain control?

Hi, hoping for some advice from an outside perspective. A couple of years ago, I went for a date with a guy who I became absolutely bonkers about. Things moved super fast and we slept together on the first date, something I've never done before.

He had lots of emotional problems and insecurities, and afterwards was being generally flaky, non-commital and his behaviour was very confusing. Since then, there have been lots of ups and downs but mainly we hadn't spoken.

I eventually got over him but we bumped into each other recently. Clearly the sexual attraction was still there and we ended up in bed together again. He's once again in a very difficult time in his life (family issues, therapy, hating himself etc) so therefore is clearly emotionally unavailable. (I know it sounds like I'm making excuses for him, but he generally is a mess!). Despite all this, we get on really well and I've fallen for him massively. I've told him I think he's amazing. He's made it clear he can't give me a satisfying relationship and I accept that - I can't expect for him to like me when he doesn't like himself, and furthermore, I don't wanna take on his problems. But the sexual attraction is still there and despite telling myself I wouldn't, we ended up in bed together yet again. It was pretty intense. Now I'm in a tricky situation.

I know he's attracted to me, but doesn't want to string me along.

I want to sleep with him (even though I know I shouldn't) and have accepted that he can't give me a relationship and I don't want him to think I want one. Shall I just tell him this or should I just cut him out of my life complelely?