Have I lost my chance?

Just warning you this is going to be a long post. I have known this guy for about 10 years and I would see him at work once a week for 12 weeks a year. We have very similar interests and at the start he would invite me to go kayaking which we both liked. I would just like to say I’m not very good at picking up signs by the way. Anyway I just thought he was asking everybody not just me and never really thought anything of it. Then a mutual friend said I don’t know we he hasn’t got a girlfriend and that just throw me. I would then catch him looking at me and smiling etc. Because this was happening at work I felt a bit uncomfortable what if I was wrong. Anyway the years have gone on and he kisses me on the cheek when ever we meet I’ve met his family and he showed me off to them complemented me to them ie she runs an outdoor centre. We nearly kissed and we would of but it was a shock and I flinched and that’s what killed it. I invited him to an opening and he came we talked about traveling and he invited me to go to Canada with him. He sent me a message on match.com and I miss read it and replied months later. I’ve invited him on days out but he has never accepted said unfortunately I’m busy yesterday I text him if we could catch up and he said yip over the summer. I feel I’ve messed him about but it’s because I didn’t want it to be weird at work. I’ve changed jobs so this wouldn’t happen. What should I do.

Why not reach out & ask him on an actual date? Be specific not just this vague, wanna catch up over the summer. During or at the conclusion of the date, kiss him, for real. He'll take it from there.

• Like 1