Is cuddling important?

Tigerjules

Hello everyone. I'm kinda new to this whole dating thing, so I'd appreciate any advice you're willing to give me. I'm in my first semester at a university and there is a guy in a couple of my classes that I kinda like. I'm not majorly crushing or anything, it's just... I wouldn't object if there was something there. Anyway, we have the same major, so we've ended up spending quite a bit of time together studying for different things. He likes to tease, but for the most part I'm able to give it right back.

We texted back and forth for a while, and then one night while we were studying in a lab, we kinda started messing around. I don't mean it in the sexual sense, just in like a playful, "where are you ticklish" sense. I was more tired than usual that night (I hadn't slept well in days because of this test that I was worried about) and somehow, (I don't quite remember how this happened) we ended up cuddling on this cot they keep in the corner of this lab.

Now I'm not normally okay with people being close to me. I have this weird obsession with a personal space bubble. But like I said, I was tired, and I guess I let my guard down. I was comfortable and warm, and I fell asleep for a little bit, but it was the best I have ever slept, and by far the most I have ever trusted another person. I've never dated, never been kissed, and I'm a very private and often lonely person. I felt special that night though. Then, the next day, it was like nothing happened. I pretty much flat out asked him if he'd meet me in the lab again because I have insommnia and I appreciated the sleep, but I did it over text because I'm a wimp.

He told me to get a body pillow and then he's been ignoring me pretty steadily since then. Now that you have the whole story, was I wrong to assume there was SOMETHING there? I just feel weird about it because this dude is in my major and I'm literally going to be seeing him darn near every day for years. How do I fix this?