An old colleague

Hello everybody,

I'm a guy in the low-twenties. I used to work as a substitute at the local hospital cleaning all kinds of things. During last summer (iirc), I had about a week in the same department. This colleague of mine, whom I've no contact with whatsoever before, came around one day and we started chatting. The following week, she kept coming back every day, during her breaks. I enjoyed it, but didn't think a whole lot about it. I had a girlfriend at that time, so I was just making friendly chat - no more, no less. At one point, she told me, which department she worked in fulltime. After one week, I was moved to substitute in another department from day to day, so she no longer knew where to find me. I, however, did not go to her department during my breaks, even though I knew exactly where it was (mainly because I had a girlfriend at that point, as noted above and therefore I wasn't on the look-out for anything else.)

For me, things kind of just stopped there - we hadn't exchanged numbers or anything.

Here's the thing, though:

Over the past year, she has been seeking contact with me, when we rarely meet at bars, while going out. I haven't been able to remember her name twice, I believe, as I met quite a few girls at that heavily women-dominanted workplace, so nothing has happened as a result of that, I guess....

Last weekend, I was at a bar with some friends and she approached me. I finally managed to get her name right (yeah!) and I bought her and her friends a few beers. She exclaimed to her friends: "Girls, this is the sweetest guy in the world!" to which I jokingly said something like: "Thats not necessarily a good thing. Girls generally don't want the good guy, huh?". "Thats not always the case", was her answer, smiling.

We talked until about 7 AM and each went our own way to go to bed. She went with her friends, I went with mine.