is it possible?

I met this guy about 6 years ago at a JROTC competition back when I was a freshman in high school (he was a junior). I felt some sorta connection so I went up and introduced myself and we talked for awhile until I had to go and do my colorguard thing. (I made some of my fellow ROTC cadets mad because I was talking to the "enemy", he was Air Force ROTC and I was Army ROTC :-) and we were competing in the same catagories) Every competition after we sat and talk as long as we could, sometimes for hours. This time was percious because we lived in different states and since I was a freshman I couldnt drive, also with ROTC practices we were always busy. After he graduated he joined the Air Force and got stationed in Shreveport, LA. I didnt get to see him for 4 years, but we talked on the phone and online.

We talked about high school and how I had thought he was cute and that I liked him more then a friend and he said that the feelings were mutual. Well he e-mailed me about a week and a half ago saying he was coming home on leave. On Saturday we got together and spent like 5 hours talking and just having fun, goofing off. I told him that I love him, not necessarily in a romantic way but mainly as a person. And I love being with him.

Now for the problem, I knew from about 6 months ago that he had a girlfriend, Ive even seen pics of her. Every time I talk to him they are having problems. He lives in LA and she lives in Chicago, Il. so they never get to see each other. I would love to be in a relationship with this guy but the gf issue is there. He told me on Sat that they wont be together much longer, she wanted him to come to Chicago this week and he said thats when hes breaking up with her. I dont know if hes just telling me this so I will do some something sexual with him or if he is serious. I have never had any doubt with him until now.