To those still in the fog

Grapesofwrath

A quick update from my world. I've been posting here at LS since March, 2015. At that time, I was up to my neck in an A that I knew was wrong and wanted to end. It took me a while to gather my strength to end it, and I was not successful the first time. It took longer than it should have. (Well, honestly, it never should have happened in the first place but that's another thread.)

Now, 19 months later, I am firmly NC with no desire whatsoever to revisit that chapter of my life. I wouldn't want him under any circumstances, and know that as well as I know my own name.

I had finally gotten to a place of feeling comfortable on my own. At peace being single and having fun with friends/family. Dating sometimes, but not with any kind of set agenda.

I recently met someone wonderful. We are a very good fit, and he is single as he can be. We see each other when we want to, can spend the night together, can be in each other's homes. We can meet each other's friends and family. I can get in touch with him any time. He asked me about my holiday plans because it would be nice to spend some of the holidays together (we both have kids, so we'll work around their schedule.) Yesterday was his birthday. We spent the day together. His sister called to send her best wishes, and he put me on the phone with her.

I'm not telling you all that to gloat. I'm telling you all that because I want you to know that you can end this painful situation and find yourself a single man who will be yours and yours alone. Maybe this relationship will run its course and we won't be together a year from now, but it doesn't matter. He is available. We can be transparent with the world. I am not some dirty little secret. He respects me and it shows. He has regard for me, and it shows. He wants to invite me into his life, and that feels amazing.

• Like 31

Grapes,