! It's brutal! It's a mess....at work!

This is a mess ..... I'm a mess ..... Help!!

I'm an attorney and have worked in the same firm with this beautiful woman for 10 years. We'd always been the best of friends, confidants, almost like husband and wife at the office. We worked together, ate together, exercised together, finished each other's sentences, ect. She is beautiful ....and smart.

A year ago, we brushed up against each other in the office kitchen and started to kiss passionately. Within a week or two, the relationship becamse physically and emotionally intense. We connected in every way possible.

Neither of us is married. However, she had two young children from a 9 year relationship with her longtime boyfriend, who, in a nutshell, is a bad guy. He's an alcoholic; drug user; and a video game addict with anger issues. She'd been with this guy for 9 years; they lived together; and she supported him because he's always been unemployed.

Our relationship was very intense for a year. We have great emotional and physical chemistry. We talked about marriage and having kids. I loved her boys and would have raised them as my own. I met and became very close to her sisters and her friends. Her parents were both alcoholics and never in the picture ..... which may be relevant here.

During the course of the last year, her ex-boyfriend was drinking himself into a stupor and threatening to harm himself. Frankly, I was worried for this guy. And I knew it was bothering her, not only because she told me she was feeling guilty about it, but also because she seemed to be withdrawing a bit. Her parents were alcoholics. This guy is an alcoholic.