Dillema! - Married woman, single guy.

Dillema! - Married woman, single guy.

I’m going to use some false names for this, just to make it easier to follow. These names are totally fictitious. I’ll call the lady in question Jane. Other names added as and when appropriate. If this reads a bit confusing, then maybe that’s because it describes a confusing situation! Anyway, here goes…

I’m in a situation that is depressing me and driving me nuts at the same time. I’m a single guy in my early 30s. I’m an educated professional and recently moved overseas (career move). Before I took the job I visited the place and was very taken by the people there – they seemed like a nice bunch, including one young lady that I took an instant liking to, and that I’m sure helped in some small way to sway my decision to take the job. Well, they say follow your heart…don’t they?

Anyway, I finally arrived, and started getting to know the people better. About my first week there, the girl that I met (‘Jane’) was offering to take me out and show me the sights. I was, of course, very happy at this turn of events! We had a nice day, enjoyed each others company, but nothing else – it wasn’t really on my mind then, really. So the next week begins, and later in the day we’re having a conversation and it’s flowing so well. Then at some point Jane mentions her husband (‘John’)! Jane doesn’t wear a wedding ring, and I had no idea.

My heart sank, I felt awful, but I just had keep on smiling and continuing with the conversation. After that, I started to try and keep my distance; I’m an honorable guy and wanted to avoid having feelings for Jane. But she kept being so friendly, and I just couldn’t deny that we got on really well; we had real chemistry.