In love with an ex who doesn't know who to be with...

My story is very complex and lengthy but I must explain my situation so that you may get a better grasp on what has been going on.

I met my old boyfriend when I was a Freshman in college and we liked each other instantly. He went to a different college back East and basically his excuse for not being with me is the distance. Unknowingly, he actually had some complications with this college and was in the area for quite some time but did not contact me at all. He hooked up with this girl for several years before they broke up. Once they broke up and he decided he was ready, he contacted me. That was 4 years after we met. When we were together initially, I felt that I was a "runner-up". He knew that I was going to school only 40 minutes away and yet ...

His ex became an obession to me but I know that he did not do anything that would alarm our relationship at that time. Okay, so that is one issue that we (or mostly I) had to deal with. We are both Asians but we have different cultures. It took quite some time for my family to accept him but eventually they did ..but the thing is, I didn't totally. I wanted to retain my heritage and I felt awkward during the holiday festivities because he was the only one that was different. I know now that I should accept him for who he is but honestly, I did not totally back then. Though I loved him with all my heart, I did not know if he was "the one". We sacrificed plenty. I moved to another state to be with him and left my family. I left my job. I changed my work schedule so that I could spend my time with him. I drove 2 hours one way for 2 years to see him every weekend. I did everything possible for him. My blood, my soul, everything was for us.